

DYRSD SCHOOL COMMITTEE MEETING AGENDA

Monday, August 26, 2019

Station Avenue Elementary School 276 Station Avenue South Yarmouth, MA 02664

5:30 p.m. – Regular Meeting

Meeting called to order at	, due notice having been posted.
----------------------------	----------------------------------

Members Present:

Ms. Jeni Landers, Chairperson

Mr. Joseph Tierney, Vice Chairperson

Ms. Andrea St. Germain, Secretary

Mr. Brian Carey, Treasurer

Mr. James Dykeman

Mr. Brian Sullivan

Mr. Phillip Morris

Administration

Mrs. Carol Woodbury, Superintendent of Schools

Mr. Kenneth Jenks, Assistant Superintendent for Administration and Business Services

I. Open the Meeting (5:30 p.m.)

- a. The Dennis-Yarmouth Regional School Committee will convene the August 26, 2019 meeting in Open Session at 5:30 p.m.
- II. Public Comment Period (5:30 p.m.)
- III. Special Town Meeting on Regional Agreement Fall 2019 (5:45 p.m.)
 - a. Vote to approve the Special Town Meeting Article on Regional Agreement Fall 2019 (as set forth below)
 - b. Vote to request inclusion of the Special Town Meeting Article on Regional Agreement Fall 2019 on the warrants of the October 29, 2019 town meetings of both Dennis and Yarmouth.

Proposed Special Town Meeting Article on Regional Agreement Fall 2019:

To see if the Town will vote, consistent with the "Agreement Between the Towns of Dennis and Yarmouth Establishing a Regional School District (District) as most recently amended in Spring 2013", to accept further amendments to Section 4 (b) and 4 (d) of said Agreement, which have been initiated and approved by a vote of the Regional School Committee on ______, 2019, which would allocate the percentage split of District operating and capital costs as follows:

Section 4 (d) shall be replaced in its entirety, as follows:

With respect to the percentage split of the District's operating costs by and between Dennis and Yarmouth (i) the split for operating costs for the Commonwealth's designated minimum required contribution shall be in accordance with the www.dy-regional.k12.ma.us

statutory formula under M.G.L. c. 70; and (ii) the split for all operational costs above the minimum required contribution shall be based upon percentage share of the five-year rolling average of foundation enrollment, beginning with Fiscal year 2016, for each town. For the purposes of this Agreement, the term foundation enrollment shall be in substantial conformance with the definition utilized by the Commonwealth's Department of Elementary and Secondary Education("DESE").

Section 4 (b) shall be amended by adding the following subsection (4), as follows:

With respect to the percentage split of the District's capital costs and expenditures (i) Yarmouth shall bear 65% and Dennis shall bear 35% of the capital cost split for the building project to replace the Mattacheese and Wixon Schools to be located on Station Avenue; and (ii) the capital cost split for all other capital expenses and projects shall be in accordance with the current Regional Agreement, as may be otherwise amended;

Or to take any other action relative thereto.

IV. Adjourn (6:00 p.m.)

*The items listed to be discussed are those reasonably anticipated by the Chair. Not all items listed may in fact be discussed and other items not listed may also be brought up for discussion to the extent permitted by law.

**Please note: The timeframes listed above are intended to guide the School Committee in their work. It should be understood that the times are approximate, and therefore may occur earlier than noted; and may be taken out of order at the request of the Chair and a vote of the School Committee.

Should there be a need for clarification on any of the aforementioned, please contact me prior to the meeting to allow sufficient time for further research if necessitated. Thank you. Carol A. Woodbury, Superintendent